Cape Town / 2 posts found

South Africa – Basic Overview

by Sean Drayton
South Africa – Basic Overview South Africa – Basic Overview South Africa was once divided into two British Colonies, namely the Colony of Natal and the Cape Colony, and two “Boer” Afrikaner Republics, namely the Orange Free State and the Transvaal. The Union of South Africa was formed in 1910 after 8 years of negotiations after the Anglo-Boer War of 1899 – 1902. The Republic of South Africa as it is today was form in 1961, which covers the southern tip of Africa and an area of 1,2 million square kilometers. The country was divided into 9 provinces (states) in […]

Big Five Animals In South Africa

by Sean Drayton
Big Five Animals In South Africa Big Five Animals In South Africa The term ‘Big Five’ originated among the hunters of a bygone era to describe not the largest of the animals that they hunted, but the most dangerous. These are lion, leopard, elephant, buffalo and rhinoceros. Every one of these animals has a reputation for pursuing its attacker with intent to kill. Perhaps the most persistent is the buffalo, which will ceaselessly pursue his aggressor, making hunting a life-or-death experience for the hunted and the hunter! All of these mammals are to be found in South Africa, making this […]